covid 19covid 19 financial advicecovid 19 relief fund

Covid-19 Finanial Assistance For Employees

If you are an EMPLOYEE who has lost employment through no fault of your own:

    1. File for unemployment with your state unemployment agency,
    2. File for pandemic unemployment assistance if your job is lost or interrupted as a direct result of this major disaster. This includes those who ae self-quarantined or who have immediate family who is quarantined; workers who are out of work due to temporary school closures; and closures of the business you work for. The Pandemic site is not available yet in most states, so you may need to wait a few days.
    3. For New Mexico, you may file a claim online at: www.jobs.state.nm.us or call 1-877-664-6984. You will need the filling to file a claim:
      1. Social Security Number
      2. Mailing address and phone number of employers you worked for in the last 18 months
      3. The starting and ending dates of your last job, or jobs
      4. If you are a non-citizen, have your alien registration number and expiration date
      5. If you worked during the week you are filing your client, be sure you know the gross amount of your pay before filing
      6. Pencil and paper to write down questions and instructions
      7. IF YOU ARE CALLLING, NM please follow this schedule based upon the last number of your Social Security Number. If your Social Security Number ends with the number below, call on the day indicated
        1. 0-3: Monday
        2. 4-6: Tuesday
        3. 7-9: Wednesday
        4. Missed Your Day?: Call Thursday and Friday
    4. For Colorado, go to www.coloradoui.gov
      1. . If your last name begins with the letter A-M, file a claim on Sunday, Tuesday, Thursday or after 1 noon on Saturday. If you last name begins with the letter N-Z file a claim on Monday, Wednesday, Friday or before 12 noon on Saturday. If you are an independent contractor, 1099 worker or self-employed, you may not be eligible to file a claim now.
    5. The stimulus bills extend the unemployment insurance up to 13 additional weeks and provides an additional $600 per week in addition to your regular UI benefits.
    6. Mandatory paid sick leave is a component of the Families First Coronavirus Response Act.
      1. The first component applies to employees who cannot work or telework because they care for their underage child due to COVID-19 school closings or childcare provider unavailability. The first 10 days under this provision are unpaid or applied against accrued PTO, vacations leave, etc. Beginning on day 11, employees must receive no less than two-thirds of their regular rate of pay for the number of hours they are normally scheduled to work, capped at $200 per day and up to $10,000 per employee. Companies with less than 50 employees are exempt.
      2. The second component of the package requires covered employers to provide paid sick leave to all employees who are unable to work or telework for the following reasons:
        1. The employee is subject to a federal, state or local quarantine isolation order related to COVID-19
        2. A health care provider advised the employee to self-quarantine
        3. The employee is experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 and seeks a medical diagnosis
        4. The employee is caring for their child because of an order described in item 1 above.
        5. The employee is caring for their child because the child’s school or place of care has been closed or the childcare provider is unavailable due to COVID-19:
        6. The employee is experiencing any other substantially similar conditions specified by a governmental agency.
        7. The Act requires emergency paid sick leave. It is limited to $511 per day for up to 10 days (80 hours), (up to $5,110 in total) for an eligible employee in coronavirus quarantine or seeking a coronavirus diagnosis. An employee can also receive emergency paid sick leave of up to $200 per day for up to 10 days (up to $2,000 in total) to care for a quarantined family member or a child whose school or child-care location has been closed due to the pandemic
        8. Workers that were laid off after March 1, 2020, but then rehired, are eligible for the paid leave provisions described immediately.
      3. The Act also requires that small-business employees be given the right to take up to 12 weeks of job-protected family leave if the employee or a family member is in coronavirus quarantine or if the school or child-care location of the employee’s child is closed due to the coronavirus. The employer must pay at least two-thirds of the employee’s usual pay, up to a maximum of $200 per day, subject to an overall per-employee maximum of $10,000 in total family-leave payments.
    7. Your employer will be reimbursed through tax credits against the FICA portion of their payroll taxes. Sick-leave and family-leave payments mandated by the Act are exempt from the 6.2% Social Security tax component of the employer’s federal payroll tax that normally applies to wages. Employers must pay the 1.45% Medicare tax component of the federal payroll tax, but they can claim a credit for that outlay. Businesses can keep money that they would have deposited for payroll taxes in anticipation of refunds from the Treasury Department for paid sick leave and paid FMLA leave outlined by the FFCRA, including amounts that would have been refunded later.
    8. Payments for individuals: Those who make less than $75,000 a year will receive direct payments of $1,200 per individual ($2,400 joint return) plus $500 per child. This will phase out for incomes above $75,000 ($150,000 joint filings).
Please follow and like us:
error

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *